Community Pharmacy Rotation

01Jun14

Hello, readers!

Hope your summer is going well so far. For the past week, I have been working at and observing what happens in a community pharmacy a.k.a. Walgreen’s! It has been quite interesting so far. For this rotation, I have to complete 10 assignments designed to guide me towards learning what community pharmacy is all about including a patient interview in which I will be counseling a patient on over the counter medications. I honestly am a little nervous about this but I am totally up for it! 

Other than learning from my class assignments, I have learned about the work flow of this community pharmacy. Usually there are two pharmacy technicians and one pharmacist at this pharmacy. The first technician will type up labels and the pharmacist will double check to see that it was typed correctly. After the pharmacist sees that it was typed correctly, the label is printed for the second technician to fill. The second technician fills the prescription and the pharmacist then checks to see that the prescription was filled correctly before putting it aside for the patient to pick up. The first technician is found in the front of the store and also deals with customers at the window or drive through window. The second technician is found in the back of the pharmacy and also deals with phone calls. I have been helping with filling scripts, answering calls and the drive through, and counting medications for inventory. It’s so exciting:)

Image



No Responses Yet to “Community Pharmacy Rotation”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment